KX Community

Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our KX Community around the world.
KX Community Guidelines

Home Forums KX Academy Issues with Filling Missing Values in Dictionaries

• Issues with Filling Missing Values in Dictionaries

Posted by mn_12 on April 15, 2023 at 12:00 am

Hi,

I am new to q/kdb+ and working on the exercises (more specifically, the segment Dictionary mapping) for the module Dictionaries.

At present, I am uncertain about a few things even after spending much time pondering on them.

newDict is:

Italy        | "eu" 
    Spain        | "eu" 
    Norway       | "eu" 
    Brazil       | "sa" 
    United States| "us" 
    Yemen        | "as" 
    Mexico       | "sa" 
    Albania      | "eu" 
    Japan        | "as" 
    Australia    | ""

The question requires us to fill in any missing values in newDict to “na”.

I tried “na”^newDict but it results in evaluation error: length. After reading the documentation for the fill operator ^, I am still unable to understand why and do not know if it is even possible to use this operator in this case.

(The solution provided is newDict[where 0=count each newDict]:enlist”na”. )

To better understand the solution provided, I created a dictionary myDict:

1| "eu" 
    2| "" 
    3| "us" 
    4| ""

I noticed that myDict[where 0=count each myDict]:enlist”na” results in evaluation error: length.

It works only if there is one missing value in myDict but not more which I do not understand why.

(This means if newDict (in 1.) had more than one missing value, the solution provided would not work.)

myDict[where 0=count each myDict]:(“na”;”na”) works. However, I am unable to find an efficient way to do so if myDict has numerous associations and many missing values.

My guess as to why the fill operator ^ does not work for both newDict and myDict is that the values are strings.

I created one more dictionary mySecondDict:

col1|      
    col2|  5 6 
    col3|

99^mySecondDict works and I get: